The 411 on D.U.I. in Pennsylvania | DUI Attorney Erie PA
Anxiety, fear, regret, embarrassment, and confusion are some of the many emotions described after being followed and pulled over by a police officer. Bright lights, loud sirens, and an officer right behind you on the roadway; who wouldn’t feel shaken up and nervous? All of these high-intensity emotions can create stress both mentally and physically causing you to become distracted and potentially failing the sobriety test.
What is the 411 on DUI Erie PA laws? What are your legal rights when being asked to take a sobriety test? What penalties would apply to me if I got a DUI? Is it true you can get a DUI if you are in your car sleeping? Let’s start off first with the 411 DUI facts and myth busters!
What if I just refuse the sobriety test?
PA has an implied consent law. That means if you refuse to submit to a test (regardless of BAC) you will be subject to a fine and automatic license suspension of 12–18 months. Those who refuse a test or are found to be under the influence of a controlled substance will face the highest BAC penalties. The courts also have the option of adding 150 hours of community service to any DUI or test refusal charges.
What substances are included in D.U.I.?
D.U.I. stands for Driving Under the Influence and it does not simply refer to “drunk driving”. PA law includes controlled substances such as marijuana, cocaine, inhalants and other intoxicants. This also includes prescription drugs.
What do BAC or Blood Alcohol Content numbers mean and why are they important?
The BAC number determines the concentration of alcohol in your bloodstream, It is important since in Pennsylvania, the D.U.I. penalty tiers are based on the driver’s BAC. The tiers are BAC’s of .08, .10 to .159% and .16 or higher.
Can you get charged with D.U.I. for sleeping in your car while under the influence?
Yes, you can and people have. Most people assume that you need to be driving to be charged with D.U.I. You only need be around or in your car. An officer can cite you for D.U.I. even if the car is off.
What are the standard D.U.I. penalties?
Penalties vary according to tier and if you have previous offenses. Penalties could include the following:
- Automatic suspension of 18 months.
- 1st degree misdemeanor charge.
- 1 to 5 years in prison.
- Fine ranging $2,500 to $10,000.
- Alcohol and drug treatment.
- Ignition Interlock system for 1 year.
Contact an Erie PA DUI Attorney
If you or a loved one has been charged with DWI, it is important to find a DUI Lawyer right away because you could be facing serious consequences. A D.U.I. conviction can affect a person’s ability to enter college, gain a professional license, or even maintain or find employment. These consequences can severely alter one’s life plan. If you have been charged with DUI, contact me and I’ll represent you as your DUI Attorney here, or call (814) 459-7754 today to set up a consultation! As the most experienced DUI Attorney Erie PA has to offer, I will do all I can to get you your life back!